Today’s word prompt: Buff

Your mom is Buff!

Serving dinner to the high school football team I overheard this being said to my son. I watched him give his nonchalant shrug and say “yeah, I guess so.”

I don’t think of myself as buff but I do acknowledge I like being fit; clothes are easier to wear, I have the stamina to live my busy life to the fullest, and my workouts provide relief from the stresses that we each face in life. When the kids were younger the gym provided time alone, away from three needy toddlers who impose themselves on the nearest caregiver. As the kids grew up the workouts changed to fit my time, interest, and energy, but the time at the gym continued to be a mainstay in my routine.

I recall a big family event where an aunt that we hadn’t seen in a while asked my daughter what mom was up to. My daughter said without pause, “My mom works a lot; and goes to the gym.”   Part of me cringed; I am sure to my older aunt I sounded like a non-present parent, but then I realized my daughters description of me was that of a woman with interests besides her family, and my daughter said it with pride in her voice.  As my kids have grown up, seeing the people they have become has helped me to frame my choices differently; to let go of the guilt that I imposed upon myself for going back to work and taking time to care for myself.  I realize my kids are proud of me; they see me as more than just mommy.  They are all independent intelligent people, and I have played a part in that!

IMG_4753

Another outcome of my commitment to being fit; my kids are all physically fit and see maintaining their health as a normal part of life; not a burden or fad.   This attitude will benefit them for the rest of their lives.

Going to the gym as a family is fun and kinda of like being in a posse. Sending pictures to each other in goofy poses showing off our muscles is just what we do. And my kids enjoy the physical nature of our relationship, wrestling and snuggling, tackling each other without worry of injury.. all benefits to being healthy, physical people!

So many great things are a part of being a fit family. And when poking fun I can ask my kids.. “Am I swol or just buff?”

5 thoughts on “Today’s word prompt: Buff

Add yours

  1. Hello! I like this: “Another outcome of my commitment to being fit; my kids are all physically fit and see maintaining their health as a normal part of life; not a burden or fad. This attitude will benefit them for the rest of their lives.” Bravo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

