I ♥♥♥ Heart Charleston SC

My oldest son who is in the Navy is currently stationed just outside Charleston SC, a city I knew very little about short of the mentions in one of my favorite movies “Gone with the Wind.” So visiting him for a long weekend recently, I was not only excited to see him but was excited because I had loved Savannah GA on a trip late last year and I heard Charleston was similar.

 

IMG_5843
Me and my son

The weather was palmy at 90 degrees F and 80% humidity.  Each afternoon was punctuated with rainstorms, some light and cool, one or two torrential and overwhelming.  But we were determined to explore on foot, we walked well over 100 miles in three days and I learned a lot about the city in our weekend there…exploring and talking to people; and I fell in love with Charleston and have vowed to go back.  Charleston is the South Carolina port city founded in 1670, is defined by its cobblestone streets, horse-drawn carriages and pastel antebellum houses, particularly in the elegant French Quarter and Battery districts. The Battery promenade and Waterfront Park both overlook Charleston Harbor, while Fort Sumter, a federal stronghold where the first shots of the Civil War rang out, lies across the water.

The city oozed romance and energy with the influx of young lovers, some recently married and some on the threshold of marriage descending on Charleston as a last hoorah to freedom.  With the nightlife and great food it outranked Vegas by far for that crowd in my opinion.

Sharing some of the 500 photos I took.  Hope you enjoy and have the chance to visit Charleston real time some day 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

